Approval workflow

The Approval Workflow feature allows users to add an internal workflow for an agreement prior to obtaining signatures.

This Company Workflow feature is only available for Enterprise subscriptions. Professional plans are able to use the Custom Workflow on individual documents but cannot store a workflow for future use.

You can add the Approval Workflow to agreements directly from the summary sheet using these steps:

Step 1: Adding a rule

  • Go to the document that you wish to apply this feature to and select the “Workflows” Tab on the right side of the screen

Screen_Shot_2019-01-25_at_11.11.32_AM.png

  • Click on "Set an approval".

Screen_Shot_2019-01-25_at_11.14.28_AM.png

  • The next screen will prompt you to set you workflow.

Screen_Shot_2019-01-25_at_11.33.49_AM.png

  • For Enterprise and Professional users you will be able to choose from a "Custom Workflow"

To set up a custom workflow

1. Select “Set Approval”

2. Select “Custom Workflow"

3. Add your first approver to step one, to assign the approver click the plus icon and choose your approving user

Screen_Shot_2019-01-25_at_11.17.18_AM.png

4. From the next screen you may choose from a list of internal users to approve this document

Screen_Shot_2019-01-25_at_11.18.39_AM.png

5. To add your next approver select add approval step and repeat step 3. Continue to do this until your approval Workflow is complete

Screen_Shot_2019-01-25_at_11.35.20_AM.png

6.Assign approvers by selecting the add approver icon and assigning an approver to each step

Note: you can add multiple users to an approval step.

  • Select "Anyone" if the approval of only one person is required on a step with multiple approvers prior to signature OR select "Everyone” if multiple approvers are required to approve before moving to the next group

Screen_Shot_2019-01-25_at_11.22.08_AM.png

7. When you have completed your selection, click Save. You will be brought back to the document viewer and you will be able to see your approval workflow applied in the tab.

Screen_Shot_2019-01-25_at_11.23.14_AM.png

For Enterprise Customers:

You will be able to pick your approval flow from a list of pre-defined and pre-approved approval workflows.

Screen_Shot_2019-01-25_at_11.23.54_AM.png

As shown above, you may choose from a list of pre-defined and pre-approved Company workflows.

Please Note: Company workflows can be created in the Company Settings under the Workflow tab.


Step 2: Requesting approval

The Approval Workflow feature can be customized to either automate approval steps or manually request approval. You may have noticed the checkboxes at the bottom of the Workflow setup menu, shown below:

Screen_Shot_2019-01-25_at_11.24.55_AM.png

This feature allows you to decide whether approvers are automatically notified when it is their turn to approve. If you choose to Automatically notify next approver, the next approver will see the contract in their Require Actions folder as soon as he needs to review and approve.

If this option is turned off, The approval notification will need to be sent manually by selecting “Request Approval” on each step of the approval as shown below:

Screen_Shot_2019-01-25_at_11.27.01_AM.png

Users can see the person required for approval directly in the summary tab, as well as the status of their decision (rejected or approved).

  • Or cancel their approval or rejection once g

Step 3: Granting or rejecting approval

Users with approval rights can:

  • Approve the contract.
  • Reject approval of the contract.
  • Or cancel an approval or rejection once granted.

Users can still edit a contract before or after approval has been granted. However, if any party (user, approver, or third party) edits the contract after it has been approved, approval will need to be granted once again, for the contract to be signed.

Please Note:

When you reject an approval, the workflow does not reset. The user in question will need to opt to cancel his/her rejection after his/her objection has been overcome.

  • To cancel a rejection, the user will need to go to the workflow tab and select the Cancel Rejection option, show below:

Screen_Shot_2019-01-25_at_11.01.53_AM.png

  • Please Note: the only way to reset a workflow is to edit the content of the actual contract by an Admin or a person with editing authority which will cause the Workflow to restart.

Once the entire approval Workflow has been granted, all parties will be able to sign it.

The timeline of changes and approvals will be listed in the Audit Trail to the right of the contract in the summary tab, and will not be shared with third parties once the contract is sent for signature.



Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.